How do you empty the fresh water tank?

How do you empty the fresh water tank?

Postby GypsyQueen » Sat Nov 07, 2015 12:49 pm

Hi there,

I'm new to the rv-ing lifestyle, and live full-time in my 26ft, 2000 Mallard 5th wheel, and want to drain the fresh water holding tank so I can fill it with potable water in case my water hose freezes this winter. It has some pink stuff in from when the last owner winterized it, so not even sure if I can/should even just let it drain onto the ground. My main questions are:

1. Do I need to turn off the city water first?
2. Do I need to turn on the pump? Or is that just to use it?
3. Okay to dump on ground or ???
4. How do you refill it? Using the same hose that is currently attached to my trailer to city water?

Thanks in advance!

Kirsten
"She's a silver lining lone ranger riding through an open space…"

GypsyQueen

Re: How do you empty the fresh water tank?

Postby Birdie » Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:55 pm

Most are different where the low point drain is located. This is a good time to grab your manual. I am not sure about content of pink stuff since I have never used it, which means don't know if it is considered hazardous, think animals consuming. Bunches of ladies on here will be all over this shortly I am sure. You can always Google on you tube.
2012 Class A Winnebago 30T (is for sale)
Coach House Platnium (my now rig)
Chevy HHR
Birdie

Location: After 10 years full-time, I am off the road in North FL!

Postby BirdbyBird » Sat Nov 07, 2015 3:14 pm

Locate the low water drain. I say this tongue in cheek because it is more difficult to find on some vehicles than others. Hoping that yours is not only not hard to find but also not hard to get to when you do locate it. :o