master bedroom reno

Talk about anything under the sun! Just remember to be respectful of others.

master bedroom reno

Postby BarbaraRose » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:15 am

I started painting the walls in the master bedroom just where the baseboards were since that area never got painted and is still the original paneling color (light brown/white). The new baseboards will be shorter so they won't cover up the unpainted area. I should have bought white paint with a primer in it since I am having to do 3 coats to cover it. The walls are white up to the chair rail and then green painted over textured wallpaper. The wallpaper was in bad shape. On a whim, I decided to see how easy it would be to remove it. It came off in full sheets with just a yank! So it all came down in a matter of minutes! Now I need to paint over the paneling. I will get a primer for that. I am thinking of painting it yellow on the upper half to brighten it up in there. It is a pretty dark room so that would help. The master bath is already yellow and white. Here are some pics I took so far...

Here it is with the green wallpaper...

pulling off the first sheet...

end result...

I cleaned up and painted the floor vents for the living room. They were pretty nasty! I couldn't just replace them since they are an odd size so this worked out good.

Also painted the outlets...
Barbie, Romeow, and Sophie, missing Lola! (and lots of ferrets running around in my heart!)

"Until one has loved an animal, a part of one's soul remains unawakened"
-Anatole France
BarbaraRose

Re: master bedroom reno

Postby JudyJB » Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:42 am

Yellow would really be pretty and brighten that room up. I once used primer and then paint over old paneling and it came out looking nice.

And you are really lucky that someone bought easily removable wallpaper! Could have been a horrible job taking it down.
JudyJB
http://grandmajjb.blogspot.com/
https://2022humongousukadventure.blogspot.com/