Gap Creek by Robert Morgan

Talk about your favorite books, Review Books, Monthly Book Club

Gap Creek by Robert Morgan

Postby Paulette » Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:50 pm

Okay, for anyone interested, this is our book selection for September. Remember, as Beth said, I'll start the discussion in Early September and we'll roll from there.

Preface, I have never done a book club of any sort, so hopefully we'll find out what works and doesn't here. Bear with me.

The list price of the book is only $14.00, so we should all be able to afford it or be able to find a used copy at Amazon or elsewhere. It was listed on Oprah's book club a while back. That's where I got the idea from. As said, I've never done this before.
"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." Ralph Waldo Emerson
Paulette

Re: Gap Creek by Robert Morgan

Postby Bethers » Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:36 pm

I'll be going to the local library here to see if I can get a card and borrow the book. I must admit, I haven't paid more than $5 for a book in years and years - so $14 for a paperback is high LOL - especially since any book I buy gets donated into an rv park somewhere for others.

I do think this is an excellent book choice from what I've heard about it. So, library, here I come :)

BTW, I just checked Amazon and they have used copies for very little (although I didn't check what shipping would be): Amazon used Gap Creek copies
Beth
“Dare to live the life you have dreamed for yourself. Go forward and make your dreams come true.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson ~
"He who treasures the small things in life has found the path to true happiness"
Bethers

Postby Sunseeker » Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:49 pm

Standard shipping on Amazon is $3.99.
Sunseeker Jill
also Tommy and furkids Sami and Molly
Image,Image
Sunseeker

Postby Bethers » Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:59 pm

Amazon only has the book at full price - the discounted books are through other parties, therefore shipping is different.