Rehab Art Project

Ladies, Show off your talents!

Rehab Art Project

Postby monik7 » Wed Jun 02, 2021 10:16 pm

I finally got to work on my rehab art project. My maternal grandmother made tooled leather wallets, key chains and purses. I’m not sure where she learned how. After she passed away, my aunt got all of her leather-working tools. I asked to borrow them and made wallets self-taught. Getting tired of that, I decided to try a project way beyond anything I had done with leather so far. I bought a piece of leather and cut it in the shape of a cowhide and tooled a southwest scene with a stallion and other wild horses. To my surprise it came out beautiful. I had it framed and it hung in my house for 20 years. The colors faded slightly, but it still looked great. In 1998 It was wrapped up and boxed with my other stuff when I moved to my current home. Since I decided to go for a different décor, I left it boxed in the garage for the last 23 years. Deciding to get it out to see if mice had damaged it, I found they hadn’t but that all the colors had faded.

So my project now was to see if I could re-dye the areas that lost color. The problem with that was I had applied a lightweight sealant back in the beginning which made adding color difficult now. So, the results are better than it was in its faded form, but not as good as it was originally. However, it’s not going back to the garage. I’ve found the perfect place for it in my extra bedroom.

Here’s the finished product today. I had a hard time photographing it because light from different angles changes the appearance of the color of the leather. So this is the best I could get. The darkness on the right is just from less light.

This shows the shape of the leather like a cowhide, but just moving a little changed the appearance of the colors in the photo.

This is how it looked faded before I started this project.

This is how it looked 43 years ago in a very poor Polaroid photo, but with vibrant colors.